Brownies for Breakfast

Standard

I woke up this morning with the baking bug.  Some days I just need to bake something.  Actually, I would love to bake every day, but I don’t always have time.  Plus due to my ginormous sweet tooth, it wouldn’t be a good idea to have all those goodies in my house.  But this morning I had to bake brownies for my stepdad.  He’s been doing me quite a bit of favors lately, so I figured I owed him a pan of brownies.

Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownie

  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Cream butter and sugar with a stand or hand mixer.  Add egg whites, applesauce and vanilla.  Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients just until combined.  Do not overmix!  Pour into a prepared 8×8 pan and bake at 350 F degrees for 35 minutes.  Once cool, cut into 25 servings.

Nutritional Info
Servings Per Recipe: 25    Amount Per Serving:
  • Calories: 106.7
  • Total Fat: 2.6 g
  • Cholesterol: 2.5 mg
  • Sodium: 5.4 mg
  • Total Carbs: 21.1 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.7 g
  • Protein: 1.5 g

These brownies turned out very fudgey and ooey gooey chewy!  I might experiment next time and decrease the sugar to 1 cup.  They were pretty rich.

I only had one with my breakfast.  Licking the spatula doesn’t count.

I’m a big Mexican food fan.  I could live on refried beans.  For lunch, I made myself a bean and cheese quesadilla made with a whole wheat tortilla by La Tortilla Factory.

The quesadilla was paired with a cup of grapefruit.  Wierd combo, I know.  But supposedly grapefruit really does have compounds in it that help you shed fat.

Off to the gym!  Gotta do a killer leg workout.  My legs haven’t felt like jello in a while…

3 responses »

    • I’ll have to try the honey for sugar sub next time I make a batch. About half time I bake, I sub agave nectar for sugar. You could definitely decrease the amount of sugar though! These little chocolate bombs got sweeter the next day.

Leave a Reply

